Title Sponsors on All Categories
Ingles Markets Sponsor
Geico Local Sponsor
CenterWell Sponsor

Meet NC author Diane McPhail at May 16 Bookclub Party in Greenville

Are you in a bookclub? Thinking about joining or starting a bookclub? Do you like to read “bookclub-type books”? Then, you’re invited to Fiction Addiction’s Bookclub Party on Thursday, May 16, when store owner Jill Hendrix will suggest bookclub titles and area author Diane McPhail will discuss her new book, The Abolitionist’s Daughter.

Like any good bookclub event, wine and cheese will be served. And a number of advance reader copies will be given away, along with attendee gift bags. Tickets are $15 each and each ticket can be redeemed for $10 off any store merchandise purchased at the event.

Tickets may be purchased at Fiction Addiction, online at the Fiction Addiction website, or by calling Fiction Addiction at 864-675-0540.

The evening’s featured author, Diane McPhail, is an artist, writer, and minister. In addition to holding an M.F.A., an M.A., and D.Min., she has studied at the University of Iowa distance learning and the Yale Writers’ Workshop, among others. McPhail is a member of North Carolina Writers’ Network and the Historical Novel Society. She lives in Highlands, North Carolina, with her husband, and her dog, Pepper.

In the tradition of Cold Mountain, McPhail’s The Abolitionist’s Daughter eschews stereotypes of the Civil War South, instead weaving an intricate and unforgettable story of survival, loyalty, hope, and redemption.

On a Mississippi morning in 1859, Emily Matthews begs her father to save a slave, Nathan, about to be auctioned away from his family. Judge Matthews is an abolitionist who runs an illegal school for his slaves, hoping to eventually set them free. One, a woman named Ginny, has become Emily’s companion and often her conscience — and understands all too well the hazards an educated slave must face. Yet even Ginny could not predict the tangled, tragic string of events set in motion as Nathan’s family arrives at the Matthews farm.

Advertisement
Centerwell 300x250 ad

A young doctor, Charles Slate, tends to an injured Nathan and begins to court Emily, finally persuading her to become his wife. But their union is disrupted by a fatal clash and a lie that will tear two families apart. As Civil War erupts, Emily, Ginny, and Emily’s stoic mother-in-law, Adeline, each face devastating losses. Emily — sheltered all her life — is especially unprepared for the hardships to come. Struggling to survive in this raw, shifting new world, Emily will discover untapped inner strength, an unlikely love, and the courage to confront deep, painful truths.

WHAT: Bookclub Party
WHEN: Thursday, May 16, at 6 p.m.
WHERE: Fiction Addiction, 1175 Woods Crossing Road, Greenville, SC 29607 (in the shopping center with Fried Green Tomatoes)
ADMISSION: $15
REGISTER: Call 864-675-0540 or register online.

Leave a Reply